Named after the golden initial of its founding charter, the League of Gold was an alliance concluded on October 5, 1586 in Lucerne between the seven Catholic cantons (the five inner cantons, Fribourg, and Solothurn) for the maintenance of the Catholic confession in the Confederation. The contracting parties pledged to remain faithful to the old faith and promised mutual assistance in case of internal or external danger. They also gave themselves the right to intervene in any contracting canton where the Catholic religion would be threatened.